Brazil national team.. Sun does not miss the World Cup


Brazil national team.. Sun does not miss the World Cup

The relationship between the Brazil national team and the World Cup competitions remains like a conjoined twin throughout the history of the tournament.

The Brazilian sun has never set on the World Cup sky for a full 92 years, from the first edition in Uruguay 1930 until the next one to be held in Qatar.

With the change of generations, eras, and technological and athletic development, the “Samba Dancers” remained the only national team that participated in all versions of the World Cup.

History of Brazil in the World Cup

The Brazilians were not satisfied with the honorable representation in the World Cup, but rather they are the first pole of world football, by being crowned with the Gold Cup 5 times, to top the list of honor.

It seems ironic that the Brazilian national team climbed to the podium 5 times outside its borders in the World Cup Sweden 1958, Chile 1962, Mexico 1970, America 1994, Korea and Japan 2002.

On the other hand, the curse of the earth struck him twice, when he hosted the first World Cup in 1950, where he lost the final against Uruguay, while he settled for fourth place in the second time during the 2014 edition.

The Selecao also won the 1998 World Cup silver, bronze twice in the 1938 World Cup in France and Argentina 1978, and fourth in the 1974 World Cup in Germany.

The most famous Brazilian star in the history of the World Cup

Brazil was and still is a fertile land for football talents, and it has always provided football fans with magician-like stars inside the green rectangle.

In the last century, Brazil presented the world with the dark jewel Pele, the 3-time World Cup winner, who is considered by many to be the best player in football history.

In later years, Brazil also presented talents the size of Zico and Socrates in the eighties of the last century, then the duo Romario and Bebeto in the nineties, and the trio Rivaldo, Ronaldo and Ronaldinho carried the banner in the early years of the current century.

In the past decade, many Brazilian names did not shine, but Neymar Jr. remains the most prominent and most glamorous talent since he became famous 8 years ago.

Brazil coaches in the World Cup

16 coaches coached Brazil over the course of its participation in 22 editions of the World Cup.

Brazil started the first editions under the leadership of Benadro in 1930, Luiz Vinhais in 1934, Ademar Pimienta in 1938, Flavio Costa in 1950, Zizi Moreira in 1954, Vicente Viola in 1958 and 1966, and Aimuri Moreira in 1962.

While Mario Zagallo remains a distinguished icon in this list, as he captained the Brazil national team in 3 World Cups in 1970, 1974 and 1998.

3 Brazilian coaches appeared in the World Cups, namely Tele Santana in 1982 and 1986, Carlos Alberto Pereira in 1994 and 2006, and finally Tite in 2018 and 2022.

The honor has been awarded once: Claudio Coutinho in 1978, Sebastiao Lazzaroni in 1990, Dunga in 2010 and Luiz Felipe Scolari in 2014.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button